Get the latest and most useful updates on overseas careers, immigration, travel and visas here.

How to migrate from Dubai to Australia in 2022?

Posted on September 17, 2021
Comment (0)
Share :
How to migrate from Dubai to Australia

Australia has long been a migration destination for immigrants in Dubai. There are many options to migrate to Australia. The country offers a variety of visa subcategories to applicants who meet specific eligibility requirements. Many immigration systems for the PR visa have been established by the Australian government in order to streamline the immigration process, filter immigrants, and ensure that only suitable applicants are granted visas.

Each immigration program has its own set of eligibility standards and selection criteria.

To relocate to Australia, you must meet certain requirements. The eligibility of immigration applications is determined using a points-based system. To be considered, you must first score 65 points or higher out of 100.

The following table outlines the various score criteria:

Category  Maximum Points
Age (25-33 years) 30 points
English proficiency (8 bands) 20 points
Work Experience outside Australia (8-10 years)

Work Experience in Australia (8-10 years)

15 points

20 points

Education (outside Australia)

Doctorate degree

20 points
Niche skills such as Doctorate or master’s degree in Australia 5 points
Study in a regional area

Accredited in community language

Professional year in a skilled program in Australia

State sponsorship (190 visa)

5 points

5 points

5 points

5 points

Check your eligibility

Permanent residency in Australia

For the PR visa, the Australian government has established a number of immigration programs.

Each immigration program has its own set of eligibility requirements, terms, and selection criteria.

Immigrants who intend to relocate to Australia usually choose one of two migration paths:

  1. Skilled stream
  2. Family stream 

Skilled stream

You can apply for a visa through the General Skilled Migration (GSM) Program if you are a skilled worker. To be eligible for a visa under this program, you must meet the GSM category’s fundamental requirements. These are the requirements:

  • The applicant must be under the age of 45.
  • The mentioned skill must be included in the government’s Medium and Long-Term Strategic Skills List.
  • Applicant’s skills must be assessed by a designated assessing authority in the field of your chosen profession.
  • Have good health status that will be evaluated by recognized authorities.
  • Have good character, which will be evaluated by the appropriate authorities.

Here are the three main visa categories under the Skilled Migration Program:

Skilled Independent visa (Subclass 189): You must first submit an Expression of Interest through SkillSelect before applying in this area. This can be carried out both inside and outside of Australia.

Applications are only accepted by invitation; to be considered, you must:

  • Have Experience in a nominated occupation on Australia’s Skilled Occupations List
  • Get a skill assessment report by a designated authority for that occupation
  • Submit an Expression of Interest
  • Be under 45 years
  • Meet general Skilled Migration basic requirements
  • Score at least 65 on the points test
  • Meet health and character requirements

Once you receive an invitation to apply for this visa, you must do so within 60 days.

Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190): You are eligible for this visa if you are nominated by an Australian state or territory. This visa has the same benefits as the Skilled Independent visa (Subclass 189).

Except for having expertise in a nominated occupation on the Skilled Occupations List, the application conditions are the same.

Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Subclass 491 Visa:  This visa requires skilled employees and their families to reside, work, and study for five years in defined regional areas. After three years, they will be eligible for a permanent residency visa. The qualifications are the same as for other Skilled Nomination programs.

Employer sponsored migration

Australia requires qualified migrants who will contribute to the country’s economic development. Skilled migrants bring with them a greater level of education and a better chance of finding work. This has the potential to improve the economy. Employee-sponsored migrants have a greater chance of achieving the intended goals.

Business Innovation and Investment Program

The Australian business visa program assists international entrepreneurs, top executives, and investors in establishing new or expanding existing firms in Australia. This may also be a means of obtaining permanent residence.

Distinguished Talent visa

The Distinguished Talent visa is for persons who have made a substantial contribution to the arts, sports, research, or academic fields through their profession. Subclass 858 and Subclass 124 are the two subclasses of the visa.

Family stream

If a close relative is an Australian citizen or permanent resident, you can migrate to Australia under the family stream. Spouses/partners, dependent children, parents of citizens and permanent residents of Australia are given priority in the family stream. It also allows other family members, such as elderly and dependent relatives, caregivers, and others, to relocate to Australia to be with their families.

Which stream should you choose?

Every year, the Australian government sets migration planning levels and a cap on the number of slots available under each migration program. The following table shows the number of places awarded to each migration program in the years 2021-2022:

Skilled Stream category 2021-22 Planning Levels
Employer Sponsored (Employer Nomination Scheme) 22,000
Skilled Independent 6,500
State/Territory (Skilled Nominated permanent) 11,200
Regional (Skilled employer sponsored/skilled work regional) 11,200
Business Innovation and Investment Program 13,500
Global Talent Program 15,000
Distinguished Talent 200
Total 79,600
Family Stream Category 2021-22 Planning Levels
Partner 72,300
Parent 4,500
Other Family 500
Total 77,300
Child & Special Eligibility 3,100

According to the Australian government’s immigration plan, the Skilled Stream category, which has a total of 79,600 immigration places, will receive the most places. If you match the eligibility conditions and score the required points, you will have a higher chance in this stream. The stream you choose is also determined by your ability to meet the eligibility standards to the best of your ability.

Take the advice of an immigration specialist to help you choose the proper stream that will allow you to migrate from Dubai to Australia in 2022.

Share :

More Posts

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

5 × one =




Follow Us

We want to hear from you!