Get the latest and most useful updates on overseas careers, immigration, travel and visas here.

How to migrate from India to Australia in 2022?

Posted on September 20, 2021
Comment (0)
Share :
migrate from India to Australia in 2022

For Indians wishing to relocate abroad, Australia has always been a top choice due to its promise of good-paying jobs, excellent quality of life, and prospects for further education or even starting a business.

The country offers numerous subcategories of visas to applicants who meet specific eligibility requirements. The Australian government has established many immigration systems for the PR visa to streamline the immigration process, filter immigrants, and ensure that only suitable applicants are granted visas.

Each immigration program has its own set of eligibility standards and selection criteria.

To migrate to Australia, you can apply for a five-year Permanent Residency (PR) visa in Australia, which allows you to work and live in the country. You and your family can live anywhere with a PR visa, and you can seek citizenship after three years of residing on a PR visa.

Points-based system

The eligibility of immigration applications in Australia is determined using a points-based system. To be considered, you must first achieve the eligibility conditions, which include a score of 65 or higher on a scale of 100. The scoring criteria are listed in the table below:

Category  Maximum Points
Age (25-33 years) 30 points
English proficiency (8 bands) 20 points
Work Experience outside Australia (8-10 years)

Work Experience in Australia (8-10 years)

15 points

20 points

Education (outside Australia)

Doctorate degree

20 points
Niche skills such as Doctorate or master’s degree in Australia 5 points
Study in a regional area

Accredited in community language

Professional year in a skilled program in Australia

State sponsorship (190 visa)

5 points

5 points

5 points

5 points

Check your eligibility

Immigrants who intend to relocate to Australia usually choose one of two migration paths:

  1. Skilled stream
  2. Family stream

Skilled stream

Australia requires qualified migrants who will contribute to the country’s economic development. Skilled migrants bring a greater level of education and a better chance of finding work, and the potential to improve the economy’s contribution. Employee-sponsored migrants have a greater chance of achieving the intended goals.

The majority of Indians prefer to migrate to Australia as skilled workers and use the Skilled migration program to migrate to Australia.

You can apply for a visa through the General Skilled Migration (GSM) Program . Australia publishes a list of over 300 occupations regularly in its occupation lists:

Skilled Occupation List (SOL)

Consolidated Skill Occupation List (CSOL)

These lists outline occupations with a talent shortage in the country, which prospective migrants can check before applying for a visa.

If you have the necessary skills for these occupations or are already employed in one of them, you can apply for any of the visas offered by the Skilled Migration program.

Here are the details of the three main visa categories under the Skilled Migration Program.

Skilled Independent visa (Subclass 189): Before submitting your application under this category, you must give an Expression of Interest through SkillSelect. This can be done within or outside of Australia.

Eligibility requirements

  • Have experience in a nominated occupation on Australia’s Skilled Occupations List
  • Get a skill assessment report by a designated authority for that occupation
  • Submit an Expression of Interest
  • Be under 45 years
  • Meet general Skilled Migration basic requirements
  • Score at least 65 on the points test
  • Meet health and character requirements

Once you receive an invitation to apply for this visa, you must do so within 60 days.

Skilled Nominated visa (Subclass 190): This visa is only available if an Australian state or territory nominates you. This visa offers the same benefits as the Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass 189), except that you must have prior experience in a nominated occupation in the Skilled Occupations List.

Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) (Subclass 491 Visa): This visa has taken the position of the Subclass 489 Visa as a path to permanent residency. This visa requires skilled professionals and their families to reside, work, and study in designated regional areas for five years. They will be eligible for a permanent residency visa after three years. The eligibility requirements are the same as they are for other Skilled Nomination Programs.

Moving to Australia under any of these visas under the Skilled migration program will lead to permanent residency in Australia after a few years of stay.

Family stream

If a close relative is an Australian citizen or permanent resident, you can migrate to Australia under the family stream. Spouses/partners, dependent children, parents of citizens, and permanent residents of Australia prioritize the family stream. It also allows other family members, such as elderly and dependent relatives, caregivers, and others, to relocate to Australia to be with their families.

Other immigration streams to consider

Employer-Sponsored Migration

This program aims to address skill shortages in the Australian labor market by matching job openings with migrants who have the required skills and experience.

Business Innovation and Investment Program 

The Australian business visa program helps international entrepreneurs, top executives, and investors establish new or expanding existing firms in Australia. This program may also be a means of obtaining permanent residence.

Distinguished Talent visa

The Distinguished Talent visa is for persons who have made a substantial contribution to the arts, sports, research, or academic fields through their profession. Subclass 858 and Subclass 124 are the two subclasses of the visa.

Which stream or program to choose if you want to move to Australia?

The Australian government sets migration planning levels and a cap on the number of slots available under each migration program every year. The following table shows the number of places awarded to each migration program in the years 2021-2022:

Skilled Stream category 2021-22 Planning Levels
Employer Sponsored (Employer Nomination Scheme) 22,000
Skilled Independent 6,500
State/Territory (Skilled Nominated permanent) 11,200
Regional (Skilled employer sponsored/skilled work regional) 11,200
Business Innovation and Investment Program 13,500
Global Talent Program 15,000
Distinguished Talent 200
Total 79,600
Family Stream Category 2021-22 Planning Levels
Partner 72,300
Parent 4,500
Other Family 500
Total 77,300
Child & Special Eligibility 3,100

According to the Australian government’s immigration plan, the Skilled Stream category, which has 79,600 immigration places, has the most places. If you match the eligibility conditions and score the required points, you will have a higher chance in this stream. Your ability to meet the eligibility standards will determine the stream you choose.

Take the advice of an immigration consultant to help you find the proper stream that will allow you to migrate from India to Australia in 2022.

Share :

More Posts

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

5 × five =




Follow Us

We want to hear from you!