Get the latest and most useful updates on overseas careers, immigration, travel and visas here.

How to migrate from South Africa to Australia in 2022?

Posted on September 29, 2021
Comment (0)
Share :
How to migrate from South Africa to Australia in 2022

Residents of South Africa rank Australia first on their list of destinations they want to move to. After the United Kingdom, Australia is said to have the second-largest population of South Africans.

Climate, culture, and way of life are all reasons why Australia is preferred. South Africans are among the top ten countries of origin in Australia’s list of immigrants.

What choices do you have if you are from South Africa and want to migrate to Australia in 2022?

Australia offers a variety of visa sub-categories. The Australian government has established a number of immigration programs for the PR visa in order to streamline the immigration process, filter immigrants, and ensure that only competent persons are awarded visas.

Each immigration program has its own set of eligibility requirements, terms, and selection criteria.

The General Skilled Migration (GSM) scheme is typically used to apply for PR visas. The assessment of PR visa applications in Australia is based on a points system.

The minimum score required for a PR visa is 65 points, which includes age, education, work experience, adaptability, and other factors.

Check your eligibility

Skilled stream

Skilled migrants bring with them a greater level of education and a better chance of finding work. This has the potential to improve the economy’s contribution. Employee-sponsored migrants have a greater chance of achieving the intended goals.

The most popular immigration program for aspiring migrants is the Skilled Migration stream, which is a points-based system. The eligibility conditions for the three primary visa categories under the Skilled Migration Program are summarized below.

Applications are only accepted by invitation; to be considered, you must:

  • Have experience in one of Australia’s Skilled Occupations List nominated occupations
  • Obtain a skill evaluation report for that occupation from a designated authority
  • Fill out an Expression of Interest form
  • Be under the age of 45.
  • Pass the points test with a score of at least 65.
  • Meet health and character standards.

1.Skilled Independent visa (Subclass 189):  This is a permanent resident visa that allows you to live and work anywhere in Australia. It is one of the most sought-after visas. To qualify, you must be under 45 years old, have a score of at least 65 on the immigration points test, and work in a job on the Medium and Long-Term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL).

You must first submit an Expression of Interest through SkillSelect before applying for this visa. This can be carried out both inside and outside of Australia.

Applications are only accepted by invitation. You must apply for this visa within 60 days of receiving an invitation to do so.

2.Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190): You must be nominated by an Australian state or territory to be eligible for this visa. To be considered for a position, you must first submit an expression of interest to the state or territory in which you wish to work. You must be under 45 years old, have a 65-point score, and work in a Short-term Skilled Occupation List occupation (STSOL).

3. Skilled work regional (provisional) visa (subclass 491): This visa requires skilled employees and their families to reside, work, and study for five years in defined regional areas. After three years, they will be eligible for a permanent residency visa. To apply, you must be sponsored by a relative who qualifies or be recommended by a state or territory government agency.

Family stream

If a close relative is an Australian citizen or permanent resident, you can migrate to Australia under the family stream. Spouses/partners, dependent children, parents of citizens and permanent residents of Australia are given priority in the family stream. It also allows other family members, such as elderly and dependent relatives, caregivers, and others, to relocate to Australia to be with their families.

Employer Sponsored stream

You must find an Australian-based company who will sponsor you in order to be eligible for these visas. Employers can only sponsor you if they are unable to recruit an Australian citizen with the required skills and experience. You can only work for the employer who sponsored you if you acquire a sponsorship.

Business Innovation and Investment Program

The Australian business visa program assists international entrepreneurs, top executives, and investors in establishing new or expanding existing firms in Australia. This may also be a means of obtaining permanent residence.

 Distinguished Talent visa

The Distinguished Talent visa is for people who have made a significant contribution to their career, the arts or sports, or research or academic sectors. The visa is divided into two subclasses: onshore Subclass 858 and offshore Subclass 124.

Global Talent stream

The GTS intends to attract tech talent and foster innovation in the country’s future-oriented businesses. There are plans to broaden the GTS visa to include the possibility of permanent residence.

Which stream should you apply for?

Every year, the Australian government sets the migration planning levels and fixes a certain number of places under each migration program. Here is a table with details of places allotted to each migration program in 2021-2022:

Skilled Stream category 2021-22 Planning Levels
Employer Sponsored (Employer Nomination Scheme) 22,000
Skilled Independent 6,500
State/Territory (Skilled Nominated permanent) 11,200
Regional (Skilled employer sponsored/skilled work regional) 11,200
Business Innovation and Investment Program 13,500
Global Talent Program 15,000
Distinguished Talent 200
Total 79,600
Family Stream Category 2021-22 Planning Levels
Partner 72,300
Parent 4,500
Other Family 500
Total 77,300
Child & Special Eligibility 3,100

According to the Australian government’s immigration plan, the Skilled Stream category, which has 79,600 immigration places, can offer the greatest number of visas. If you match the eligibility conditions and score the required points, you will have a better chance to migrate to Australia.

Share :

More Posts

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

nine + two =




Follow Us

We want to hear from you!