Get the latest and most useful updates on overseas careers, immigration, travel and visas here.

Visit Visa No Longer Required in Indonesia for 45 Countries

Posted on July 13, 2015
Comment (0)
Share :

Recently the president issued Presidential Regulation number 69 of 2015 on Exemptions of Visit Visa (Visit Visa Regulation). Before the issuance of the Visit Visa Regulation, foreigners were obliged to obtain a Visit Visa before being able to enter Indonesia. Under the new regulation foreigners are exempted from this obligation. The Visit Visa Regulation is an attempt of the Indonesian government to boost the tourist industry and increase the number of foreign tourist in Indonesia. The Visit Visa Regulation is in force since June 10, 2015.

Countries Exempted to Obtain a Visit Visa

The following 45 countries are exempted from the obligation to obtain a visit visa prior to entering Indonesia:

           Countries Exempted from Obligation to Obtain Visit Visa Prior to Entering Indonesia
 1. People’s Republic of China 16. Belgium
 2. Russian 17. Sweden
 3. South Korea 18. Austria
 4. Japan 19. Denmark
 5. United States of America 20. Norway
 6. Canada 21. Finland
 7. New Zealand 22. Poland
 8. Mexico 23. Hungary
 9. England 24. Czech Republic
10. Germany 25. Qatar
11. France 26. United Arab Emirates
12. Netherlands 27. Kuwait
13. Italy 28. Bahrain
14. Spain 29. Oman
15. Switzerland 30. South Africa

31. Thailand
32. Malaysia
33. Singapore
34. Brunai Darussalam
35. Philippines
36. Chili
37. Morocco
38. Peru
39. Viet Nam
40. Ecuador
41. Cambodia
42. Laos
43. Myanmar
44. Hong Kong Special Administration Region (Hong Kong SAR)
45. Macao Special Administration Region (Macao SAR)

Restrictions for Foreigners Exempted to Obtain a Visit Visa

Based on article 4 of the Visit Visa regulation, the foreigners entering Indonesia without a visit visa are given permission to stay in Indonesia for a maximum period of 30 days. This 30 days period cannot be extended. In case a foreigner wishes to stay for a longer period of 30 days the foreigner must apply for a Visit Visa in accordance with already existing regulations.

Specific Requirements for Certain Countries

The Visit Visa Regulation regulates specific requirements for the countries under numbers 1 – 30 in the list above. These countries:

1. may only use the Visit Visa exemption for tourist purposes;
2. must enter Indonesia through the following airports/seaports:

a. Soekarno-Hatta International Airport (Tangerang);
b. Ngurah Rai International Airport (Bali);
c. Kualanamu International Airport (Medan);
d. Djuanda International Airport (Surabaya);
e. Hang Nadim International Airport (Batam);
f.  Sri Bintang Seaport;
g. Sekupang Seaport;
h. Batam Center Seaport; and
i.  Tanjung Uban Seaport.

The countries under number 31 – 45 have a wider exemption. These countries:

1. may use the Visit Visa exemption for the performance of governmental, educational, social and cultural, tourism, business, family, journalistic, or transit purposes;
2. may enter Indonesia at all immigration checks.

For more news and updates, assistance with your visa needs or for a Free Assessment of your profile for Immigration or Work Visa’s just visit

Share :

More Posts

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

twelve − 9 =




Follow Us

We want to hear from you!